Wyoming Business Licensing Information for Contractors
Contractor’s License Requirements in Wyoming
In the state of Wyoming, general contractor’s licenses are not offered on the state level. To obtain licensure, check with your local government to determine application, registration and fee requirements.
Wyoming Business Licensing for Electricians
Electrical Contractor and Electrician Licenses in Wyoming
In Wyoming, licenses are available for the following classifications:
- Journeyman | Fee: $50 | Exam Application
- Master | Fee: $100 | Exam Application
- Apprentice | Fee: $20 | Application
- Contractor | Fee: $400 | Application
- Low Voltage Contractor | Fee: $200 | Exam Application
- Apprentice Technician | Fee: $20
- Technician | Fee: $50
Completed applications and checks (payable to the State of Wyoming) must be sent to the following address:
Are you a local contractor looking to grow your business? List your company with us and gain exposure for your service or product.Get Started
Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety
Attn: Electrical License
320 West 25th St. 3rd Floor
Cheyenne, WY 82002
More information can be obtained by calling 307-777-7288.
Business Licensing Information for Plumbers in Wyoming
In the state of Wyoming, plumber’s licenses are not offered on the state level. To obtain licensure, check with your local government to determine application, registration and fee requirements.
Additional Business Licensing for All Businesses in Wyoming
Business and Occupational Licenses
Information for business and occupational licenses in the state of Wyoming can be obtained from the website for the Professional Licensing Board. There are many professions in Wyoming that require licensure by businesses operating in the state.
Wyoming Business Tax Information
Business Tax Registration
Any business operating in the state of Wyoming must register for a tax identification number, licenses or applicable permits, sales tax accounts and unemployment insurance tax using the website for the state’s Department of Revenue. To determine your tax liability or to make online payments, consult the website linked. This website can also be used for general tax information and forms related to taxes.
Insurance Requirements for Businesses in Wyoming
Unemployment Tax Requirements
Unemployment insurance is required to be paid by every business operating in Wyoming. This process is managed and regulated by the state’s Department of Workforce Services. In addition, employers and businesses can use this website to register the business, pay premiums and report wages. Under certain conditions, your business may need to remit payment for unemployment insurance taxes.
Workers’ Compensation Requirements
With very few exceptions, employers in the state of Wyoming who employ more than one worker must get and maintain Workers’ Compensation Insurance. Using the Department of Workforce Services website, you can obtain coverage, report your intent to self-insure and verify that a company has the necessary insurance to meet the state’s requirements.
Under the law, the premiums paid for this type of insurance coverage is always paid for by the employer and should never be deducted from the employee’s earnings.
For more information, contact can be made with the Workers’ Compensation Division using the address below:
Wyoming Department of Workforce Services
Workers’ Compensation Division
1510 East Pershing Blvd. South Door, 1st Floor
Cheyenne, WY 82003
For more information, contact the Workers’ Compensation Division by calling 307-777-5476.
New Hire Reporting Requirements for Businesses in Wyoming
Reporting New Hires
Under federal law, employers are required to report newly hired employees within 20 days of their hire date. The following information can be reported using the New Hire Reporting Center:
- Employee’s name
- Social Security Number
- Date of birth
- Hire date
- Employer’s name
- Payroll address
- Federal identification number (FEIN)
Employers may use the website for reporting, fax the information to 800-921-9651 or by sending it to the following address:
Wyoming New Hire Reporting Center
P.O. Box 1408
Cheyenne, WY 82003
Licensed Contractors in Wyoming
To verify licensure, contact the Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety at 307-777-7288.