Massachusetts Business Licensing Information for Contractors


Massachusetts independent contractors

Contractor’s License Requirements in Massachusetts

In the state of Massachusetts, individuals and businesses looking to perform work on detached one or two family homes are required to obtain a home improvement contractor’s license through the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulations.

Anyone applying for a home improvement contractor’s registration, must pay a fee of $150 along with a Guaranty Fund fee. Renewal fees are $100. Applications must be sent to the following address:

Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation

10 Park Plaza, Suite 5170

Boston, MA 02116

(617) 973-8787

Construction Supervisor License

In the state of Massachusetts, individuals and businesses looking to perform work on detached one or two family homes are required to obtain a home improvement contractor’s license through the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulations.

Anyone applying for a home improvement contractor’s registration, must pay a fee of $150 along with a Guaranty Fund fee. Renewal fees are $100. Applications must be sent to the following address:

Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation

10 Park Plaza, Suite 5170

Boston, MA 02116

(617) 973-8787

 

Are you a local contractor looking to grow your business? List your company with us and gain exposure for your service or product.

Get Started

Massachusetts Business Licensing for Electricians

Electrical Contractor and Electrician Licenses in Massachusetts

In Massachusetts, licenses are available for Master and Journeyman level Electricians. In order to apply for licensure, the individual must take and pass the Business and Law examination along with the specific trade exam.

Fees are $267 for Master Electricians, payable to PSI Exams. This includes the required exam fees and the license application processing through the state of Massachusetts and PSI.

Journeyman Electricians are required to pay $222 in fees to PSI, which covers the exams (Business and Law and the trade) along with the license application processing through the state and PSI.

Business Licensing Information for Plumbers and Gas Fitters in Massachusetts

In order to do plumbing work in the state of Massachusetts, the state requires you to have a license. Massachusetts offers licenses for Master and Journeyman Plumbers. Information can be found on the Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation website with regard to the application process for either Plumbing licenses in Massachusetts.

Additional Business Licensing for All Businesses in Massachusetts

Business and Occupational Licenses

Information for business and occupational licenses in the state of Massachusetts can be obtained from the website for the Division of Professional Licensure Boards. There are many professions in Massachusetts that require licensure and/or a permit for businesses operating in the state.

Massachusetts Business Tax Information

Business Tax Registration

Any business operating in the state of Massachusetts must register for a tax identification number, licenses or applicable permits, sales tax accounts and unemployment insurance tax using the MassTaxConnect website. To determine your tax liability or to make online payments, consult the website linked. Instructions and forms for all types of businesses are provided for ease of use.

The Department of Revenue’s website can also be used for general tax information and forms related to taxes.

Insurance Requirements for Businesses in Massachusetts

Unemployment Tax Requirements

Unemployment insurance is required to be paid by every business operating in Massachusetts. This process is managed and regulated by the state’s Labor and Workforce Development division. A guide is available online for those individuals interested in more information on their benefits when filing for unemployment. Under certain conditions, your business may need to remit payment for unemployment insurance taxes.

Workers’ Compensation Requirements

With very few exceptions, employers in the state of Massachusetts who employ more than one worker must get and maintain Workers’ Compensation Insurance. Using the WCRIBMA website, you can obtain coverage, report your intent to self-insure and verify that a company has the necessary insurance to meet the state’s requirements.

Under the law, the premiums paid for this type of insurance coverage is always paid for by the employer and should never be deducted from the employee’s earnings.

For more information, contact can be made with the Workers’ Compensation bureau using the address below:

The Workers' Compensation Rating and Inspection Bureau of Massachusetts 101 Arch Street Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Further information can be obtained by calling 617-439-9030 or by using the resources on the state’s Labor and Workforce Development page.

New Hire Reporting Requirements for Businesses in Massachusetts

Reporting New Hires

Under federal law, employers are required to report newly hired employees within 20 days of their hire date. The following information can be reported using the Department of Revenue’s website:

  • Employee’s name
  • Address
  • Social Security Number
  • Date of birth
  • Hire date
  • Employer’s name
  • Payroll address
  • Federal identification number (FEIN)

Employers may use the website for reporting, fax the information to 617-376-3262 or by sending it to the following address:

Massachusetts Department of Revenue

P.O. Box 55141

Boston, MA 02205-5141

Licensed Contractors in Massachusetts

In order to find out whether a contractor or license holder is registered in the state of Massachusetts, users can search through the records provided by the Division of Professional Licensure.