Maine Business Licensing Information for Contractors
Contractor’s License Requirements in Maine
In the state of Maine, those individuals or businesses that wish to obtain a contractor’s license must seek further licensing requirements from their city or county governments.
Maine Business Licensing for Electricians
Electrical Contractor and Electrician Licenses in Maine
In Maine, any electrical work requires a state license. To apply for an electrical license, visit the state’s website for Regulatory Licensing and Permitting. The state offers licenses to master and journeyman level electrical contractors. The application fee is $25 and the license is $200. Applications can be obtained by calling 207-624-8603.
Are you a local contractor looking to grow your business? List your company with us and gain exposure for your service or product.Get Started
Business Licensing Information for Plumbers in Maine
The state offers licenses to master and journeyman level plumbers. The application fee is $25 and the license is $200. Applications can be obtained by calling 207-624-8603.
Applications can be found on the state’s website along with information on renewals and reciprocity.
Additional Business Licensing for All Businesses in Maine
Business and Occupational Licenses
Information for business and occupational licenses in the state of Maine can be obtained from the business licensing portal. There are many professions in Maine that require licensure by businesses operating in the state. Businesses can use the portal to obtain licenses or permits as required for operating in the state of Maine.
Maine Business Tax Information
Business Tax Registration
In order to register a business in the state of Maine, business owners must use the portal provided by the Maine Revenue Services’ Sales & Use, Withholding, and Service Provider Tax Registration website.
General Tax Information and Forms
Any business operating in the state of Maine must register for a tax identification number, licenses or applicable permits, sales tax accounts and unemployment insurance tax using the website for the state’s website for Business Taxes.
Insurance Requirements for Businesses in Maine
Unemployment Tax Requirements
Unemployment insurance is required to be paid by every business operating in Maine. This process is managed and regulated by the state’s Department of Labor.
Under certain conditions, your business may need to remit payment for unemployment insurance taxes. To be sure, consult your account through the Department of Labor’s website dedicated to Employers.
Workers’ Compensation Requirements
With very few exceptions, employers in the state of Maine who employ more than one worker must get and maintain Workers’ Compensation Insurance. Using the state’s website, you can obtain coverage, report your intent to self-insure and verify that a company has the necessary insurance to meet the state’s requirements.
Under the law, the premiums paid for this type of insurance coverage is always paid for by the employer and should never be deducted from the employee’s earnings.
For more information, contact can be made with the Workers’ Compensation Division using the address below:
Workers’ Compensation Board
Central Office – Augusta
90 Blossom Lane – Deering Building
27 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0027
New Hire Reporting Requirements for Businesses in Maine
Reporting New Hires
Under federal law, employers are required to report newly hired employees within 20 days of their hire date. The following information can be reported using the New Hire Reporting Program:
- Employee’s name
- Social Security Number
- Date of birth
- Hire date
- Employer’s name
- Payroll address
- Federal identification number (FEIN)
Employers may use the website for reporting, fax the information to 207-287-6882 or by sending it to the following address:
DSER – New Hire Reporting Program
11 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0011
Information can also be obtained by calling 800-437-9611.
Licensed Contractors in Maine
Under the Regulatory Licensing & Permitting section of the state’s official website, users can search and verify licensures statewide.