Louisiana Business Licensing Information for Contractors


Louisiana independent contractors

Contractor’s License Requirements in Louisiana

In the state of Louisiana, those individuals or businesses that wish to obtain a contractor’s license can do so using the website for the Louisiana Licensing Board. Under the law in Louisiana, general commercial and residential contractors must be licensed to work in the state.

A license application must be filled out legibly and the appropriate fee must be included in the application packet. When filled out, the complete packet can be sent to:

State Licensing Board for Contractors

2525 Quail Drive

Baton Rouge, LA 70808

Applications can be faxed to 888-510-0127 and more information can be obtained by calling 225-765-2301.

Are you a local contractor looking to grow your business? List your company with us and gain exposure for your service or product.

Get Started

Louisiana Business Licensing for Electricians

Electrical Contractor and Electrician Licenses in Louisiana

To obtain your electrical contractor’s license in this state, you must take the Business and Law examination. To obtain an application, you must call the Board at 225-765-2301 and when completed, the packet can be sent with a $100 non-refundable application fee to the following address:

State Licensing Board For ContractorsP.O. Box 14419

Baton Rouge, LA 70898

Details of the examination include its $100.00 non-refundable fee, its four hour time limit and the requirement to have 70% or higher to pass. More information can be gleaned from the Contractors Licensing Law and Rules and Regulations.

Business Licensing Information for Plumbers in Louisiana

In order to do plumbing work in the state of Louisiana, the state requires you to have a license. On the website for the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana, plumbers can access information on applying to become a plumber, rules and regulations, and the plumbing code.

In order to obtain your plumbing license, you must take and pass the Business and Law examination. You can reach the Board at 225-765-2301 to request an application and when completed, send the application packet with a $100 non-refundable application fee to the following address:

State Licensing Board For ContractorsP.O. Box 14419

Baton Rouge, LA 70898

Licenses in Louisiana can be obtained for Journeyman and Master Plumbers.

Additional Business Licensing for All Businesses in Louisiana

Business and Occupational Licenses

Information for business and occupational licenses in the state of Louisiana can be obtained from the website for the Secretary of State. There are many professions in Louisiana that require licensure by businesses operating in the state.

Louisiana Business Tax Information

Application for Louisiana Revenue Account Number

Through GeauxBiz, businesses can obtain a revenue account number along with the registration of the business. Using this website allows the business to be registered with the Secretary of State, the Department of Revenue and the Workforce Commission.

More information can be obtained by calling 225-925-4704.

Instructions for Louisiana Tax Number Application

Following the information provided on the application, businesses can obtain a Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Account.

General Tax Information and Forms

Information on the various required forms that a business needs to operate in this state can be found at the Department of Revenue’s website.

Insurance Requirements for Businesses in Louisiana

Unemployment Tax Requirements

Unemployment insurance is required to be paid by every business operating in Louisiana. This process is managed and regulated by the state’s Workforce Commission.

Under certain conditions, your business may need to remit payment for unemployment insurance taxes. To be sure, consult your account through the Department of Labor’s website dedicated to Employers.

Workers’ Compensation Requirements

With very few exceptions, employers in the state of Louisiana who employ more than one worker must get and maintain Workers’ Compensation Insurance. Using the Workers’ Compensation portion of the state’s Workforce Commission website, you can obtain coverage, report your intent to self-insure and verify that a company has the necessary insurance to meet the state’s requirements.

Under the law, the premiums paid for this type of insurance coverage is always paid for by the employer and should never be deducted from the employee’s earnings.

For more information, contact can be made with the Workers’ Compensation department using the address below:

Office of Workers' Compensation Administration P.O. Box 94040 Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9040 

Or, you may reach the department by calling 225-342-7555.

New Hire Reporting Requirements for Businesses in Louisiana

Reporting New Hires

Under federal law, employers are required to report newly hired employees within 20 days of their hire date. The following information can be reported using the State Directory of New Hires:

  • Employee’s name
  • Address
  • Social Security Number
  • Date of birth
  • Hire date
  • Employer’s name
  • Payroll address
  • Federal identification number (FEIN)

Employers may use the website for reporting, fax the information to 888-223-1462 or by sending it to the following address:

Louisiana Directory of New Hires

P.O. Box 142513

Austin, TX 78714

Licensed Contractors in Louisiana

In order to find a licensed contractor in the state of Louisiana, users can utilize the state’s contractor search by name, license number and more.