Georgia Business Licensing Information for Contractors
Residential and General Contractor Licensing Information in Georgia
Prior to July 1, 2008, licenses for general contractors were not required. Afterward, applicants for licensure are required to pass a two-part exam covering their specific license along with Business and Law.
The Secretary of State provides a list of the various licenses available in the state of Georgia along with information on obtaining each. To begin the application process, click here to be directed to the Professional Licensing website provided by the state. If you do not wish to fill out the application electronically, application forms are located as part of this resource.
Are you a local contractor looking to grow your business? List your company with us and gain exposure for your service or product.Get Started
To apply to be a basic residential contractor obtained by examination, fill out the application form and send it to the following address along with a check for the $200.00 application fee:
State Licensing Board for Residential and General Contractors
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217
You must also include the Bank Credit Reference Form, a $25,000.00 surety bond, $25,000.00 letter or line of credit, proof of workers’ compensation insurance and proof of liability insurance.
Business Licensing Information for Electricians in Georgia
Electrical Contractor and Electrician Licenses
In the state of Georgia, anyone performing electrical work must be licensed to do so. You can apply online through the Professional Licensing Board for the examination, reciprocity, reinstatement and more.
Business Licensing Information for Plumbers in Georgia
Plumbing Contractor Licenses and Regulations
In order to perform any kind of plumbing work in the state of Georgia, a state license is required. The various licenses related to plumbing work are provided on the Professional Licensing Boards website.
An application must be filled out for Plumbing in the state of Georgia. After the application is approved, the applicant can then sit for the examination. An application fee of $30.00 is required and is non-refundable.
Additional Business Licensing Information for all Georgia Businesses
Business and Occupational Licenses in Georgia
The Georgia state website provides information on how business and occupational licenses can be obtained. For further information on the licenses and permits required, consult your local Chamber of Commerce. You must file an annual registration through the Secretary of State’s Office in order to operate a business in Georgia.
Georgia Business Tax Information
Business Tax Registration
For all companies doing business in this state, a Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) is required along with any other tax account numbers, licenses, sales tax, income tax withholding and unemployment tax insurance. More information is available through the state’s Department of Revenue on your financial obligation with regard to taxes.
General Tax Information and Forms
Companies required to obtain a sales tax and use number can do so here. A withholding payroll number can be obtained at the following linked location. The Business Registration page of the Department of Revenue provides more information on the different tax forms and information associated with operating businesses in the state of Georgia.
Georgia Insurance Requirements for Businesses
Unemployment Tax Requirements for Georgia
For companies operating in this state with more than one worker, unemployment tax insurance is required. Under the Department of Labor’s website, information is offered with regard to unemployment insurance tax reporting and liability.
If you are required to pay taxes of this sort, you must register with the Department of Labor.
Workers’ Compensation Requirements for Georgia
Workers’ compensation insurance is required for businesses in Georgia that employ over three workers. More information is provided on the requirements for insurance through a commercial carrier or self-insurance through the State Board of Workers’ Compensation.
New Hire Reporting Requirements for Businesses
Reporting Newly Hired Employees
Federal and state laws require employers to report newly hired and rehired employees to the New Hire Reporting Program in this state. Utilizing this website, you can report new hires electronically along with reporting new hires in more than one state. Further information is available using the following phone number: 888-541-0469.
Georgia Licensed Contractors
In order to find a licensed contractor in the state of Georgia, verification can be done using the Secretary of State’s website.